Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association

Tipperary County Notes

Sean Treacy Park, Tipperary Town was the venue for the Munster Club Senior B and Intermediate Championship Semi Finals on Saturday last. Cappawhite represented Tipperary in the Senior B Semi Final and Aherlow represented Tipperary in the Intermediate Semi Final.

On a beautiful sunny afternoon the opening game was the Senior B Semi Final where Cappawhite competed against Banner from Clare. These clubs met two years ago in this competition with the Banner coming out on top. Banner got off to a quick start with three early points from Aoife Keane (2) and Niamh O’Dea. In the sixteenth minute Cappawhite levelled the game when Claire Mullins netted the ball and followed it with a point in the eighteenth minute to put the Tipperary champions in front. The lead was short lived as Banner rebounded by scoring 1-4 without reply for the remainder of the first half (Aoife Keane with the Banner goal) to leave the Clare side in front by 1-7 to 1-1 at the interval.

The second half was a more even affair as Cappawhite reduced the deficit to four points with twenty minutes remaining. However, Banner were the better team on the day and despite the best efforts of the Tipperary champions, Banner ran out winners by seven points in the end on a score line of Banner 1-12 Cappawhite 1-5.

Cappawhite Panel:– Helen Kennedy; Angie McDermott (Captain), Aoife Ryan, Niamh Loughman; Tracy Maguire, Sheelagh Carew (0-1), Siobhan O’Neill; Shauna Quirke, Mairead Crowe; Anne O’Dwyer, Siobhan Costello (0-1), Claire Mullins (1-2); Laura Mullins, Sinead Buckley, Jayne Clancy (0-1);

Subs – Sarah O’Neill, Mary O’Dwyer, Ciara Coughlan, Aisling Loughman, Sandra Barry, Michelle Caplis, Niamh Juileann, Marie O’Neill, Joanne O’Doherty, Cathriona Fitzgerald, Elaine Kelly, Marie McHugh, Jean Kelly, Mary Claire Ryan, Deirbhle Hennessy

Banner Panel:– Emma O’Driscoll, Eva O’Dea, Laurie Ryan, Niamh Cavanagh; Louise Woods, Sinead Quinn, Orlaith Lynch; Louise Henchy (0-3), Niamh Keane; Grainne Nolan, Aoibhainn Malone (0-1), Rachel Grogan; Aoife Keane (1-2), Niamh O’Dea, Captain (0-4), Sue Higgins (0-2)

Subs – Michaela Roughan, Rebecca Cullighan, Sinead O’Keeffe, Naomi Carroll, Karen Roche, Niamh O’Brien, Emma Neylon, Katie Cahill, Victoria Krechan, Shona Enright, Caroline McNulty, Thaynara Silva

In the second semi-final, Aherlow competed against Mungret St. Pauls, Limerick. Aherlow earned themselves a place in the Semi-Final after defeating Scartaglin, Kerry by five points in the Quarter-Final. Mungret St. Pauls scored the first point of the game before Aherlow got in front thanks to a Claire Mullins goal in the seventh minute. Aherlow continued to dominate the early proceedings adding another three points before Katie Crowe scored their second goal in the twenty fourth minute. Mungret St Pauls found the posts for their second point in the twenty fifth minute leaving the half-time score – Aherlow 2-3 Mungret St. Pauls 0-2. Mungret came out a different team in the second half, steadily reducing the half-time deficit.

When Kate Mulqueen scored a Mungret goal in the 50th minute, Mungret took the lead by a point. Mungret doubled their lead with a point in the 58th minute and Aherlow looked in trouble. Due to a number of second half injuries, there was a significant amount of injury time to be played. Aherlow’s Edel Hanley had been unable to start following an injury picked up in last week’s All-Ireland Final but her introduction as a late substitute proved to be the difference on this occasion. With Aherlow piling on the pressure, the Mungret defence conceded a number of late frees, three of which were pointed by Edel Hanley to turn a two point deficit in to a one point victory – Aherlow 2-7 Mungret St Pauls 1-9.

Thanks to this hard-earned victory, Aherlow have earned themselves a place in the Final on October 20th against Boherbue, Cork.

Aherlow Panel:- Louise Grogan; Laura Ivory, Grainne Wade, Brid Condon; Aoife Meaney, Rachel Kenneally, Grainne Ryan; Siobhan Condon, Blaithnaid Waters; Claire Mullins (1-1), Aine Staunton, Anne Marie Fahey (0-2); Katie Crowe (1-1), Maeve O’Gorman, Maura Condon

Subs – Eimear McCarthy, Grainne Blackburn, Edel Hanley (0-3), Julie O’Meara, Grainne Condon, Eleanor Ryan, Kate O’Meara, Sarah Morrissey, Deirdre Mullins, Emma Burke, Amy Ryan.

Mungret St. Pauls:– Catherine Murphy; Karen Gibbs, Aisling Dee, Olivia Giltenane (0-1); Jenni O’Malley, Martina Giltenane, Susan Fitzgerald; Lisa Garvey, Yvette Moynihan (0-1); Fiona Mangan, Aisling Ní hAnnaidh (0-4) , Breda Griffin; Kate Mulqueen (1-2), Julia Walsh (0-1), Mairead Clancy

Subs – Janet O’Connell, Triona Bannon, Niamh Foley, Marita O’Brien, Katie Campbell, Deirdre Devers, Caoimhe O’Neill, Yvonne Norris, Orlaith O’Neill, Amy Dineen, Aisling Keogh, Megan O’Malley.


Brian Borus, Tipperary will meet Mourneabbey, Cork in the Munster Club Senior Plate Semi Final at a venue and time to be confirmed during the week. Check out for fixture details.


Tipperary Ladies Football will hold trials for their 2014 Minor Team in Moycarkey Borris GAA Club, Littleton at 7.00pm on Wednesday 9th October. The Management Team of Johnjo O’Connor, Elaine Harte, Jim Sweeney, Nicola Gilmore and Pat Morrissey look forward to welcoming everyone who would like to participate.


Tipperary Ladies Football will hold bucket collections in the next few weeks. Anyone who would like to help with the bucket collections can do so by contacting any County Board Officer. The following is a list of towns and dates:-

October 25th/26th – Thurles, Cahir, Templemore and Tipperary Town.

November 15th – Carrick on Suir and Cashel

November 16th – Clonmel, Roscrea and Cashel

Information concerning Ladies Football will appear in these notes. If you wish to include any item of interest, please contact us at before 8pm on Sunday. Visit the Tipperary Ladies Football web site at keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary Ladies Football.

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association