Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association

The Winner Is

It is that
time of year again as next Friday sees the most talked about event in the
Ladies calendar – The All Star Awards.

Munster will
be represented with 18 of the 45 nominations. Cork lead the way after winning
the All Ireland with 11, Kerry beaten semi-finalists and Division 2 winners
will have 6 while Tipperary are rewarded with their run to the intermediate
final with one nomination.

No doubt
much talk and debate will take place between now and the night and for many
nights afterwards. We wish all those Munster players the very best of luck on
the night and hope that many will be rewarded for their great seasons.

O’Flynn of Cork and Mairead Morrissey of Tipperary are nominated for the Senior
and Intermediate player of the year and the winner will be announced on the night.

Geraldine is
a true a symbol of the Cork success story over the years. Her trademark runs
out of the halfback line and towards goal are frightening to opponents. Her ability
to take frees is something Cork have depended on and her place as part of the
best half back line in the country are all reasons why the cork girl should be
close to winning the award. She will be going for a three in a row after Breige
Corkery and Juilet Murphy

Mairead has
been a true legend of the Tipperary game for a long time now. This is her
second nomination for an All Star and is truly worthy of the Intermediate
player of the year. She is present in the Munster Interprovincial team and one
of the few Munster players who could easily walk on to any team in the country. The Brian Boru’s player has had a great year for the
Premier girls and her goal in Croke Park will no doubt be one of the goals of
the year. An omen to look for is that last season’s winner Caroline O’Hanlon
won an All Star. Will lightning strike twice?

2013 TG4
Ladies Football All Star Award Nominees


Yvonne Byrne
(Mayo), Caron Fay (Cavan), Linda Martin (Monaghan)


 Rena Buckley (Cork), Sinéad Burke (Galway),
Briege Corkery (Cork), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Emer Flaherty (Galway),
Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Laura McEnaney (Monaghan), Caroline Kelly (Kerry),
Cáit Lynch (Kerry), Aoife Lyons (Kerry), Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan), Gráinne
McNally (Monaghan), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork),
Christina Reilly (Monaghan), Bríd Stack (Cork), Noelle Tierney (Mayo), Anne
Marie Walsh (Cork)


Bernie Breen
(Kerry), Amanda Casey (Monaghan), Annette Clarke (Galway), Juliet Murphy
(Cork), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Angela Walsh (Cork)


Aherne (Dublin), Nollaig Cleary (Cork), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Aisling
Doonan (Cavan), Aileen Gilroy (Mayo), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Sarah Houlihan
(Kerry), Caroline Little (Fermanagh), Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Cathriona
McConnell (Monaghan), Fiona McHale (Mayo), Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan), Mairéad
Morrissey (Tipperary), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Louise Ní Muircheartaigh
(Kerry), Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork), Bronagh Sheridan (Cavan), Cora Staunton

2013 TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player
of the Year Nominees

Morrissey (Tipperary)

Smith (Cavan)

Little (Fermanagh)


2013 TG4 Senior Player’s Player of
the Year Nominees

Courtney (Monaghan)

O’Flynn (Cork)

Mohan (Monaghan)

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association