Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association

Cappawhite make it 3 in a row

Cappawhite were crowned senior champions of Tipperary when the defeated Brian Boru’s in a keenly fought contest despite the final score line.
Brian Borus and Cappawhite Ladies Football Teams travelled to Monroe to compete in the County Senior Championship Final. Conditions were excellent with a beautiful September’s summer evening and an immaculate field thanks to the Moyle Rovers Club and Pat O’Connor. Cappawhite succeeded in winning their third County Final in row thanks to a hat trick of goals from Sinead Buckley.

The game began at a fast pace with Mairead Morrissey scoring a point for Brian Borus straight from the throw-in followed by a pointed free a minute later. Sheelagh Carew started Cappawhite’s scoring in the fourth minute with a point but they did not register another point until the twelfth minute by which time Brian Borus has managed to score five points.

In the fourteenth minute Patricia Hickey added another point from play for Brian Borus to stretch their lead to 0-6 to 0-2 at the end of the first quarter. Cappawhite gradually settled into the game with two quick points in the sixteenth and eighteenth minute before taking the lead in the 24th minute as Sinead Buckley scored a goal. Neither team scored again before the half time whistle blew with Cappawhite in front by a point – Cappawhite 1-4 Brian Borus 0-6.

Supporters of both teams expected an exciting second half but alas this was not to be. Cappawhite raced in to a three point lead soon after the second half began and this was followed by another goal from Buckley in the eighth minute which stretched Cappawhites lead to five.

Borus had no reply to this and in the forty fifth Buckley netted the ball again. Borus tried valiantly to engineer a comeback but could make no headway against the resolute Cappawhite back line. Cappawhite added another three points in the final quarter to run out winners on a full-time score of Cappawhite 3-9 Brian Borus 0-7.

Cappawhite will look forward to meeting the Waterford Club representatives on the fifth of October.
Tipperary Ladies Football would like to thank All Ireland Scor Solo Song Singer Sinead Grant for her excellent rendition of Amhran na bhfiann before the game and to Malachy Cairns who entertained the supporters at half time with his accordion.

Cappawhite Team:
Helen Kennedy; Angie MacDermott, Aoife Ryan, Niamh Loughman; Tracy Maguire, Sheelagh Carew (0-3), Siobhain ONeill; Shauna Quirke (0-2), Mairead Crowe; Anne O Dwyer, Siobhain Costello (0-2), Claire Mullins (0-1); Laura Mullins, Sinead Buckley (3-0), Jayne Clancy (0-1)

Subs – Sarah O Neill, Mary O Dwyer, Ciara Coughlan, Aisling Loughman, Sandra Barry, Michelle Caplis, Niamh Julieann, Mary O Neill, Joanne O Doherty, Cathriona Fitzgerald, Elaine Kelly, Marie McHugh, Jean Kelly, Mary Claire Ryan, Deirbhle Hennesy

Brian Boru’s Team:
Nora Noonan; Nikki Gilmore, Sinead Norris, Joanne Peters; Orla Flemming, Carmel Condon, Aisling Kennelly; Patricia Hickey (0-1), Jennifer Grant; Mairead Morrissey (0-3), Eimear Myles, Sinead Kennedy (0-2); Maureen Murphy, Cliona O Dwyer (0-1), Caoimhe Condon

Subs: Jackie O Gorman, Kelly Maher, Laura Keating, Laura Morrissey, Claire Walsh, Maire Claire Murphy, Catherine Culleton, Emily Hayden, Denise Fitzgerald, Aoife O Dwyer

Referee Derek O Mahoney

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association