Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association

St Marys withstand gallant ISK fight back in Lidl Jun A final

Lidl Munster LGFA PPS Junior A Final

 St Mary`s Midleton 3-10  Intermediate school Killorglin 2-10  

An outstanding first quarter display set the seeds for St Mary`s Midleton victory

 over Intermediate school Killorglin in the Lidl Munster LGFA PPS Junior A final

 played in the excellent Banteer Community new Astro pitch.  

  Bríanna Smith was outstanding hitting 2-02 for  St Mary`s with Ava McAuliffe chipping in with a point and Ava Walsh scoring their third goal ,the excellent Midleton defence kept the Kerry girls scoreless in the opening quarter. The water break gave  ISK the chance  to reset and the second quarter saw the sides exchange points Grainne Kennedt hit two points for the Kerry girls and was unlucky to see another effort come back off the crossbar. St Marys lead 3-05 to 0-02 at the half time break.    

Turning to play with a strong win ISK set about reducing the deficit with early goals from Lori O Connor and Sarah Palmer and a point from midfielder Keeva Riordan, Smith struck back with a point and an excellent save from goalie Shauna Cashman kept ISK at bay, points from  Grainne Kennedy  Mary Ellen McDonnell and Palmer reduced the deficit but two pointed frees from Smith had just two goals between the teams 3-09 to 2-06 going into the last fifteen minutes.   

Isk could not find a way past the superb Cashman in the Midleton goals but four unanswered points from Kennedy ,Mary Kate Smith the superb Lori O Connor and Mary Ellen Mc Donnell had the margin down to two points with only minutes left on the clock.

The final say in this game was down to Brianne Smith when she converted a free that she had won to lead by a goal at the final whistle and a gallant recovery by the Killorglin girls fell just short in this superb game.

St Mary`s  go on to play Sacred Heart Westport in the Lidl All Ireland semi final.             


                                           St.Mary’s Midleton. Cork


                                                 Shauna Cashman

                            2                               3                                 4

               Sophie Kelleher         Aoife Lee                 Amelia Cooper  


                          5                                6                                 7

Laura O’Donovan    Gráinne O’Neill       Ava Walsh

                 8                                                9

Kate O’Sullivan                                Lainey O’Sullivan  (C)                

         10                            11                             12                           

      Bríanna Smith      Emily Brenner       Saoirse Twomey-Tangey 

         13                            14                             15                                 

    Aimee Savage        Ava McAuliffe              Elsa Ryan


16. Natalia O’Connor 17. Rachel Ryan 18. Nia Holland 19. Caitlin Horgan              

20. Grace Gaffney 21. Tara O’Neill 22. Ciara Murphy 23. Lily Carroll

24. Chidera Ositadinma 25. Shona Dunphy 26. Sorcha Cronin 27. Ava Guiney

28. Anabel O’Brien 29. Ella Finn 30. Cara Twomey 31. Molly O’Shea

32. Ríona Murphy 33. Orlaith Murphy 34. Leah Daly

35. Emily Daly 36. Ava Coughlan


Tomás Mac a t’Saoir, Emma Farmer, Christine O’Brien

                                   Intermediate School Killorglin                    


                                                     April O Reilly

                             2                                   3                               4

                 Naoise Burke                   Amy Kelly               Éabha Dolan    

                              5                                   6                                        7                            

                 Leona O Sullivan   Seodhla O Donovan    Lily Kerins

                            8                                                9

                     Keeva Riordan         Emily O Sullivan

10                                  11                                      12

 Lori O Connor   Grainne Kennedy   Mary Ellen McDonnell

                      13                           14                                     15

 Sarah Palmer   Mary Kate Smith            Sian Corkery (C)


16. Kayla Roche , 17.Olivia Moriarty 18Laura Patton

19 Emily O Shea .20 Meabh Crowley. 21 Aoibhín O Donovan

22 Avril Rooney.  23 Aíne Nash Freeman.  24 Sarah Leslie

25 Siún Horgan    26 Airida Mateviciute.  27 Lily Morris

Munster Ladies Gaelic Football Association

Social Media


MLGFA Official Media Partner


Website by: Déise Design