Irish Examiner O'Connor Cup glory for UL   22/03/2015

UL 3-16                 DCU 0-9


UL made it back-to-back titles in the Irish Examiner O’Connor Cup as they finished 16-point winners over DCU in the final at Cork IT.

UL opened up an early 0-4 to 0-1 lead, Roisín Leonard with two, but then Carol Hegarty, Sarah Rowe and Lorraine O’Shea all pointed to tie matters by the end of the first quarter. UL won a penalty after a DCU defender handled on the ground following Aisling Tarpey’s save from Caroline McCarthy and Leonard stroked home from the spot. Leonard and McCarthy added points for  UL and captain and player of the game Niamh O’Dea kicked a pointed free at the buzzer to make it a six point game at the break UL 1-9 DCU 0-6

 With Jennifer Grant and Lorraine Scanlon controlling  midfield and O Dea conducting the attack from centre-forward UL took the game to DCU, Anna Galvin added the first point at the resumption to stretch the lead, but DCU’s Bríd O’Sullivan gave notice that they wouldn’t be lying down as she drew a save from Edel Murphy.

However, at the other end, Tighe struck on 36 for a brilliant goal, her shot rifled  to the top corner, and though Rowe replied for DCU, Tighe raised another green flag on 41, side-stepping Tarpey and netting after O’Dea’s shot had fallen to her.That made it 3-10 to 0-7 and though Rowe responded with a DCU point, UL were firmly in their groove by now and there were points from O’Dea, sub Claire O’Sullivan, Leonard and Aileen Wall as they continued to dominate. UL had excellent defensive performances from Juila White  Niamh Richardson and Laurie Ryan and DCU could make no inroads. An excellent all round team performance from made them worthy Irish Examiner O’Connor Cup champions




Scorers for UL: Á Tighe 2-1, R Leonard 1-4 (0-2f), N O’Dea 0-3f, A Wall, C O’Sullivan 0-2 each, A Galvin, C McCarthy, L Scanlon, J White 0-1 each.

Scorers for DCU: S Rowe 0-4 (0-1f), C Hegarty, L O’Shea 0-2 each, B O’Sullivan 0-1.

UL: Edel Murphy (Kerry); S Condon (Tipperary), L Ryan (Clare), B McManus (Cork); C Cooney (Galway), N Richardson (Limerick), J White (Cork); L Scanlon (Kerry), J Grant (Tipperary); A Wall (Waterford), A Galvin (Kerry), A Tighe (Leitrim); C McCarthy (Kerry), N O’Dea (Clare), R Leonard (Galway).

Subs: C O’Sullivan (Kerry) for McCarthy (40), E Buckley (Tipperary) for Cooney (45), A Considine (Clare) for Condon (49), S Everard (Tipperary) for Leonard (52), Elaine Murphy (Mayo) for Edel Murphy (53).

DCU: A Tarpey (Mayo); A Bell (Mayo), L Caffrey (Dublin), S Greene (Cavan); L Collins (Dublin), D Murphy (Dublin), K Murray (Dublin); C McManamon (Mayo), L O’Shea (Tipperary); B O’Sullivan (Cork), L McEnaney (Monaghan), S Woods (Dublin); C Hegarty (Mayo), L Peat (Dublin), S Rowe (Mayo).

Subs: E Rutledge (Dublin) for Hegarty (37), A O’Reilly (Dublin) for McManamon (47), L Fleming (Roscommon) for O’Sullivan (52), G O’Loughlin (Sligo) for Collins (56).

Referee: J Niland (Sligo).


Launch for the 2019 Gourmet Food Parlour Ladies HEC Championship