Houlihan sets up Munster final meeting with Cork for Champions   06/06/2018


Kerry     2-16       Waterford  1-6


By Donal Barry


Kerry fired their way back into the Munster final with a deserved 13-point win over a Waterford side that failed to deliver on their promising league displays from earlier in the year.

It was Waterford who enjoyed much of the opening fare but a return of eight first half wides did little to help their cause as Kerry who lost star forward Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh to a shoulder injury on 14 minutes. At that stage, Waterford led 0-2 to 0-1 but with both sides struggling to find their rhythm, it was Kerry and player of the game Sarah Houlihan who led the way. She converted a penalty on 26 minutes that she won herself and pushed Kerry into their biggest lead of the day 1-3 to 0-2.

Waterford’s Eimear Fennell countered for Waterford with a pointed free and another one from play shortly afterwards but it was Houlihan that fired over another Kerry point as they headed to the break 1-4 to 0-4 ahead with Houlihan on target for all of Kerry’s scores.

Kerry settled matters following a blistering third quarter with a big home crowd in support in which they scored 1-4 without reply. Houihan again in the thick of it with 0-3 while Emma Dineen raised a white flag before Andrea Murphy got in for Kerry’s second goal of the day.

Waterford ran the changes and introduced Maria Delahunty and Sinead Ryan to strengthen up the forward line and Delahuty made an impact on the final quarter with 1-1.

In truth, it was only taking the bleak look of the scoreboard as Kerry fired over another eight points with Lorraine Scanlon helping herself to a hat trick of points all from distance much to the crowds delight.

Kerry now face Cork in the Munster final which will take place on June 23rd



Scorers: Sarah Houlihan 1-9 (0-3F), Andrea Murphy 1-2, Lorraine Scanlon 0-3 (0-1), Emma Dineen (0-1, Aoife O’Callaghan 0-1

Laura Fitzgerald, Laoise Coughlan, Sarah Murphy, Eilis Lynch, Deirdre Kearney, Aislinn Desmond, Aisling O’Connell, Lorriane Scanlon, Amanda Brosnan, Amy Foley, Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh, Emma Dineen, Andrea Murphy, Eilish O’Leary, Sarah Houihan.

Subs: Siobhan Burns for Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh (14), Kate O’Sullivan for Siobhan Burns (47), Aoife O’Callaghan for Amanda Brosnan, Meabh Barry for Andrea Murphy


Launch for the 2019 Gourmet Food Parlour Ladies HEC Championship